| More
Search Go Search

Ingham County, Michigan

(Partner: National Association of County and City Health Officials)

Community Mission

Lansing, MI will be a community where all people are healthy, active, and consume nutritious fresh food everyday.     The ACHIEVE team of Ingham County will work to institutionalize policies and environmental strategies that promote physical activity and healthy food choices through access, equity, affordability and sustainability principles.

Community Information

Focus Community for ACHIEVE: City of Lansing     Total Population (2000 census)   119,128   Surface Area (Square Miles)   35.2   Setting   Urban   Median Household Income   $41,283   % No HS diploma   12.8%   Percent Living on Poverty   16.9%   % Unemployed- Bureau of Labor 2/2010   11.2%

Community Contacts

Name E-mail Phone
Cheryl Danley danleych@msu.edu (517) 432-0309
George T. Rowan rowan@msu.edu (517) 353-1740
Harmony Gmazel hgmazel@mitcrpc.org 517-393-0342
Janine Sinno Janoudi jsinno@ingham.org (517) 887-4664
Janine Sinno Janoudi janine_sinno@yahoo.com (517) 887-4664
Justin W. Walworth jwalworth@peckham.org (517) 316-4123
Kirk Valkner valkner-kirk@aramark.com (517) 410-3897
Michelle Nikolai michele.nikolai@sparrow.org 517.364.2363
Olga N Hernandez-Patino hernano@lcc.edu (517) 483-1452
Randy A. Bell bellr@msu.edu (517) 676-7298
Ruth Pell 'pellr@tcoa.org' (517) 887-1394
Toni Young tyoung@lansingmi.gov (517) 483-4489

Activities

Current healthy communities projects in Ingham County focus on land use and health, including healthier food systems and complete streets projects.  To learn more about current projects, please visit the local website: www.cacvoices.org/environment    To view a Healthy Community Map of Ingham County including bike parkings, community gardens and farmers market locations, please visit:  www.re-news.net/map


NACCHO National Association of Chronic Disease Directors National Recreation and Park Association SOPHE YMCA - Activate America