| More
Search Go Search

Three Rivers District, Kentucky

(Partner: National Association of County and City Health Officials)

Community Information

Three Rivers District Health Department (TRDHD) is a collaboration of four rural counties; Carroll, Gallatin, Owen, and Pendleton, in the northern portion of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Each county has a health center within its borders which serves an average of 11,280 residents. The District Office is situated in Owenton, Kentucky. A local board of health serves each county and a district board of health serves the entire district. A director oversees the district's day-to-day operations and reports to the district board of health.

The service area for TRDHD covers 861.4 square miles. The communities served have small populations in relation to their large geographic area. The majority of residents (97.6%) are Caucasian, with African Americans representing 1.3 percent of the population and Hispanic Latinos  representing 1.5 percent of the population.

The local schools are the largest employers in two of the four counties. Gallatin and Carrollton have several large factories that provide employment for the area. Due to recent changes in the economy, the District's unemployment rate has grown from an average of 6.3 percent in April 2008 to 11.3 percent in June 2010.

The three rivers that make up the name for our district are the Kentucky, Ohio, and Licking Rivers.

The TRDHD and the Health and Safety Partnerships (HSP) in each county in our district are committed to making a positive difference in the lives of our residents. These partnerships are engaged in community-wide strategic planning to improve the the communities' health and safety. The goal is to prioritize public health issues and identify resources to address health, safety, and quality of life issues using the national Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships (MAPP) model.

The HSP consists of representatives from a broad cross-section of each county's service providers, as well as active community members. Without their committment and dedication to the MAPP process, this project could not have been realized.



Our CHART Members

Community Contacts

Name E-mail Phone
Becky Mefford becky.mefford@owen.kyschools.us 502-484-5509
Cathy Hanley cathy.hanley@gallatinsteel.com 859-567-3108
Cheryl Foster cheryl.foster@gallatinsteel.com 859-567-3108
Dianne Coleman diannem.coleman@ky.gov 859-567-2844
Dr. Benjamin Kutnicki dchapman@ccmhosp.com 859-567-2754
Dr. Georgia Heise georgiaf.heise@ky.gov 502-484-3412
James Thaxton jamest.thaxton@ky.gov 859-654-6985
Katherine Gilson katherineb.Gilson@ky.gov 502-484-3412
Larry Vaught larry.vaught@gallatin.kyschools.us 859-567-7640
Rebecca Wilson rebeccae.Wilson@ky.gov 502-732-6641
Wayne Keith hwaynekeith@campnorthward.com 859-654-3865

NACCHO National Association of Chronic Disease Directors National Recreation and Park Association SOPHE YMCA - Activate America